Voters pass school budget, bus leasing proposition – May, 2017

Schuylerville Central School District residents passed a $34.8 million budget for the 2017-18 school year by a vote of 561 to 146 on Tuesday, May 16. Voters also passed two propositions, elected two candidates to the Schuylerville Board of Education and elected three candidates to the Schuylerville Public Library Board of Trustees.

“We are grateful to the hundreds of community members who took time to vote today,” said Superintendent Dr. Ryan Sherman. “Their support will help ensure that our students have the opportunities and resources to receive a high-quality education that our community can be proud of.”

The 2017-18 budget is 2.10 percent more than the budget for the current school year. It maintains the current education program with no increase in the school tax levy.


The bus leasing proposition passed by a vote of 579 to 129. It allows the district to lease nine 65-passenger buses, two 28-passenger buses and two 22-passenger buses that are wheelchair accessible for the 2017-18 school year. The leasing term is five years.

The Schuylerville Public Library’s budget appropriation was approved by a vote of 546 to 160. It allows the public library to increase its annual budget appropriation to $340,000. The cost is not part of the school district’s budget and the district does not participate in the development of the public library budget.


Voters elected Michael Bodnar and Stanley Barber to the Board of Education. Bodnar had 500 votes and will fulfill a five-year term beginning on July 1, 2017. Barber had 378 votes and will fill the unexpired term of Rebecca King, who resigned therefrom, beginning immediately and expiring on June 30, 2019. Veronica Wood had 363 votes.

In the Schuylerville Public Library Board of Trustees election, Amy Carpenter and Kiersten DeLisle received 460 and 423 votes respectively. They each will fulfill a three-year term ending in 2020. Katie Brunson, who received 77 votes, will fulfill the balance of a term ending in 2018 created by the resignation of Deanne Johnson.