Gregorek, Murray named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Program has named two Schuylerville High School students as semifinalists in the 63rd annual competition. Seniors Sidney Gregorek and Teghan Murray are among about 16,000 students nationwide to be named semifinalists. About 1.6 million students in 22,000 high schools entered the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. To advance as a semifinalist, a student must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. Finalists will be announced in February and will then compete for one of 7,500 National Merit Scholarships.